Thanks to BIM! Preventing bottlenecks on the construction site

Switzerland

/

Messeplatz, Basel

2019-2021

|

Balintra AG, represented by UBS Fund Management (Switzerland) AG (SIMA)

Architect:

Morger Partner Architects AG

|

Budget:

CHF 96 million

The Clara Tower in Basel presented us with a logistical Herculean task. However, with the help of a “digital twin”, we were able to precisely predict and plan the construction process. This led to efficient, process-controlled production. We also achieved significant cost and schedule security.

/01

emphases

Continuous BIM planning and use of the digital twin also for digital logistics

BIM2LOG

Process-controlled construction logistics

Space management

Personnel logistics during COVID

/02

The project

The Clara Tower is a 31-storey high-rise building with an adjoining annex opposite the Basel exhibition center. Built according to designs by Morger Partner Architects, the almost 100 meter high tower primarily contains apartments. There are also commercial and catering spaces on the ground floor.

approx. 4250
Deliveries handled
approx. 32
Truck/Day in peak phase
approx. 13,000
m² of glass surfaces
approx. 8
km ventilation ducts
/03

challenges

13 000 m² of glass surfaces, 1275 inserts, 8 km of ventilation ducts, up to 32 truck trips with just one access per day: In order to get this volume to the right floor areas within one and a half years, operational construction logistics handled over 4000 deliveries and provided over 810 hours of outdoor lift service. At peak times, more than 300 employees worked on the construction site at the same time.

In short: The Claraturm construction project required a logistical masterpiece.

/04

solution

Together with Halter general contractor We developed the “Digital Logistics” competence center to embed process-controlled production on Halter AG construction sites. An important preliminary work for the Claraturm project: Using a so-called digital twin, we were able to precisely logistically simulate the complex Basel construction project at the Competence Center. The digital twin belongs to the core of the so-called Building Information Modeling (BIM) method). With its help, as much building information as possible is digitally modelled in advance. This made it easy to prefabricate façades, sanitary installation elements and entire prefabricated wet cells of the Clara Tower. This resulted in ideal process-controlled logistics for us. We were able to use this information to link it to the schedule and generate an ideal delivery flow for the construction site (BIM2LOG). This schedule starts with the regulated number of truck trips, goes through the best timing of the elevators to better utilization of storage space on the construction site, controlled centrally via CLM.

“The Clara Tower's digital twin was almost error-free and therefore an important basis for decision-making.”

Diego Frey, Engineering/Digital Planning and Construction at Halter AG
/05

scores

The Claraturm project shows how we can improve efficiency and productivity in the construction industry with data-based software solutions. Thanks to BIM (BIM2LOG) and digital twin, all project participants worked together much better and more efficiently. In addition, access control for people on the construction site as well as deadline and cost security were ensured despite COVID.

Diego Frey from Halter AG assumes that digitization, integrated collaboration and increased productivity in the construction industry can reduce costs and deadlines of 30 to 40% within five to seven years. For Frey, there is no question that the construction industry must move. In recent years, it has hardly increased productivity at all, in contrast to other industries.

/06

Our services

You might be interested in this

Pfeil für "Mehr lesen"

BIM sei Dank! Engpässe auf der Baustelle verhindern

Schweiz

/

Messeplatz, Basel

2019-2021

|

Balintra AG, vertreten durch UBS Fund Management (Switzerland) AG (SIMA)

Architekt:

Morger Partner Architekten AG

|

Budget:

CHF 96 Millionen

Der Claraturm in Basel stellte uns vor eine logistische Herkulesaufgabe. Mit Hilfe eines «digitalen Zwillings» war es uns jedoch möglich, den Bauprozess präzise vorherzusagen und zu planen. Das führte zu einer effizienten, prozessgesteuerten Produktion. Zudem erreichten wir eine deutliche Kosten- und Terminsicherheit.

/01

Schwerpunkte

Durchgängige BIM Planung und Nutzung des Digitalen Zwillings auch für eine digitale Logistik

BIM2LOG

Prozessgesteuerte Baulogistik

Flächenmanagement

Personallogistik während COVID

/02

Das Projekt

Der Claraturm ist ein 31-geschossiges Hochhaus mit angrenzendem Annexbau gegenüber dem Messegelände von Basel. Nach den Entwürfen von Morger Partner Architekten gebaut, beinhaltet der knapp 100 Meter hohe Turm vorrangig Wohnungen. Im Erdgeschoss befinden sich zudem Gewerbe- und Gastronomieflächen.

ca. 4250
Anlieferungen abgefertigt
ca. 32
LKW / Tag in Peakphase
ca. 13 000
m² Glasflächen
ca. 8
km Lüftungskanäle
/03

Herausforderungen

13 000 m² Glasflächen, 1275 Einlegeteile, 8 km Lüftungskanäle, bis zu 32 LKW-Anfahrten bei nur einer Zufahrt pro Tag: Um dieses Volumen innert eineinhalb Jahren auf die richtigen Geschossflächen zu bringen, wickelte die operative Baulogistik über 4000 Lieferungen ab und erbrachte über 810 Stunden Aussenaufzugsleistung. In Spitzenzeiten arbeiteten mehr als 300 Mitarbeitende gleichzeitig auf der Baustelle.

Kurz: Das Bauprojekt Claraturm erforderte eine logistische Meisterleistung.

/04

Lösung

Zusammen mit dem Totalunternehmen Halter entwickelten wir das Kompetenzzentrum «Digitale Logistik», um auf den Baustellen der Halter AG eine prozessgesteuerte Produktion einzubetten. Eine wichtige Vorarbeit für das Projekt Claraturm: Mittels eines so genannten digitalen Zwillings konnten wir das komplexe Basler Bauprojekt im Kompetenzzentrum präzise logistisch simulieren. Der digitale Zwilling gehört zum Kern der sogenannten BIM-Methode (Building Information Modeling)). Mit seiner Hilfe werden so viele Gebäudeinformationen wie möglich im Voraus digital modelliert. So liessen sich Fassaden, Sanitärinstallations-Elemente und ganze Fertignasszellen des Claraturms problemlos vorfabrizieren. Daraus ergab sich für uns eine ideale prozessgesteuerte Logistik. Wir konnten diese Informationen nutzen, um sie mit dem Terminplan zu verknüpfen und einen idealen Lieferfluss für die Baustelle zu generieren (BIM2LOG). Dieser Terminplan fängt mit der regulierten Anzahl an LKW-Anfahrten an, geht über die Best-Taktung der Aufzüge bis hin zu einer besseren Auslastung der Lagerflächen auf der Baustelle, zentral gesteuert über die CLM.

«Der digitale Zwilling des Claraturms war fast fehlerfrei und somit eine wichtige Entscheidungsgrundlage.»

Diego Frey, Engineering / Digital Planen und Bauen bei Halter AG
/05

Ergebnisse

Das Projekt Claraturm zeigt, wie wir mit datenbasierten Software-Lösungen die Effizienz und Produktivität in der Baubranche verbessern können. Dank BIM (BIM2LOG) und digitalem Zwilling arbeiteten alle Projektbeteiligten deutlich besser und effizienter zusammen. Zudem waren trotz COVID die Zugangskontrolle für die Menschen auf der Baustelle sowie die Termin- und Kostensicherheit sichergestellt.

Diego Frey von der Halter AG geht davon aus, dass die Digitalisierung, integrierte Zusammenarbeit und Produktivitätssteigerung in der Baubranche innerhalb von fünf bis sieben Jahren eine Kosten- und Terminreduktion von 30 bis 40% erreichen können. Dass sich die Baubranche bewegen muss, steht für Frey ausser Frage. Sie habe die Produktivität in den vergangenen Jahren praktisch gar nicht gesteigert, ganz im Gegensatz zu anderen Branchen.

/06

Unsere Leistungen

Das könnte Sie interessieren

Pfeil für "Mehr lesen"